The Urethane Blog

Fall PFA Meeting

Polyurethane Foam Association Online Meeting Provides Forum
For Issues Discussion, Technical Advances
Recorded Proceedings Available

LOUDON, TN (November 16, 2020)—The Polyurethane Foam Association (PFA) recently concluded its fall meeting—conducted online this year because of the pandemic—which spotlighted key regulatory issues and new technical developments.

“Like many organizations, we had to adapt to keep our membership safe, but we were still able to provide an effective forum for conveying information and determining action to support the
flexible polyurethane foam industry,” said Chip Holton, President of NCFI Polyurethanes and PFA President.

PFA’s November meeting was attended by more than 100 executives from foam manufacturers, chemical suppliers, and other companies supporting the industry. Attendees saw presentations on key industry issues including regulatory issues, recycling, product quality, and European activity.

In addition, a Technical Program featured on-demand presentations on viscoelastic foam cure, plant security, employee training, issues with pink staining, catalysts, and end-of-foam-life technologies. Jane Kniss of Evonik won the Herman Stone Technical Excellence Award, as her
technical presentation was voted best by those attending.

“I think it’s noteworthy that even in a pandemic, we had a full technical program and strong presentations,” said Bill Gollnitz of Plastomer Corporation, Past President of PFA and Moderator
for the Technical Program. “Congratulation to Jane Kniss for her second consecutive Herman Stone Award.”

Sessions were recorded and are available online for purchase at

PFA members also voted on officers and Executive Committee members for 2021. These include:

President: Chip Holton, NCFI Polyurethanes
1st Vice President: Philippe Knaub, FXI
2nd Vice President: Tony Turoso, Tempur-Sealy
Secretary: Cam McLaughlin, Elite Comfort Solutions
Treasurer: Hamdy Khalid, Woodbridge Foam
Immediate Past President: Bill Gollnitz, Plastomer
Other Executive Committee members include Robert Heller, Future Foam; Susan Norris, Momentive; Scott Skolnekovich, Covestro; John Maloney, BASF; Doug Todd, Dow; and Paul Coleman, Huntsman.

The Polyurethane Foam Association is a trade association founded in 1980 to help educate foam users, allied industries and other stakeholders about flexible polyurethane foam (FPF). PFA provides facts on environmental, health and safety issues and technical information on the performance of FPF in consumer and industrial products. FPF is used as a key comfort
component in most upholstered furniture and mattress products, along with automotive seating, carpet cushion, packaging, and numerous other applications.